Find Italy

Italy, officially known as the Italian Republic, is located in Southern Europe, extending into the Mediterranean Sea. It shares borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, and Slovenia to the north. The country’s unique shape resembles a boot, with the Apennine Mountains running down its length, and Sicily and Sardinia as the two largest islands.


Italy boasts a diverse geography, encompassing stunning coastlines, majestic mountains, and fertile plains.


Italy’s climate varies from north to south. The northern regions experience a temperate climate, with hot summers and cold winters. Central Italy has a Mediterranean climate, characterized by hot, dry summers and mild, rainy winters. Southern Italy enjoys a subtropical climate, with hot, dry summers and mild, wet winters.


Italy is home to a rich variety of fauna, including brown bears, wolves, deer, wild boars, and various species of birds, reptiles, and amphibians. The country’s national parks and protected areas provide habitats for these diverse animal species.

Longest Rivers:

The Po River, flowing from the Alps in the north to the Adriatic Sea in the east, is Italy’s longest river, spanning approximately 652 kilometers (405 miles). Other significant rivers include the Tiber, Arno, and Adige.

Highest Mountains:

The Italian Alps, located in the north, are home to some of the country’s highest peaks, including Monte Bianco (Mont Blanc), the highest mountain in Western Europe, and the Gran Paradiso. In the south, the Apennine Mountains stretch down the length of the Italian peninsula, with peaks such as Monte Corno and Monte Vettore.



Italy’s history dates back to ancient times, with evidence of human habitation dating back to the Paleolithic era. The peninsula was inhabited by various tribes and civilizations, including the Etruscans, Greeks, and Romans.

Ancient Rome:

Ancient Rome, founded in the 8th century BCE, grew from a small settlement on the Tiber River into a vast empire that dominated the Mediterranean world. The Romans made significant contributions to architecture, engineering, law, and governance, leaving a lasting legacy that continues to influence Western civilization.

Middle Ages:

Following the fall of the Roman Empire, Italy experienced a period of fragmentation and political turmoil. The Middle Ages saw the rise of powerful city-states such as Venice, Florence, and Milan, which became centers of trade, commerce, and culture.


The Renaissance, which began in Italy in the 14th century, marked a period of rebirth and innovation in art, literature, science, and philosophy. Italian artists and thinkers such as Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Galileo Galilei made groundbreaking contributions to their respective fields, ushering in a new era of humanism and enlightenment.


Italy was unified as a single nation-state in the 19th century, following a series of wars and political upheavals known as the Risorgimento. The Kingdom of Italy was proclaimed in 1861, with Turin as its capital, and Rome was later declared the capital in 1871.

Modern Age:

In the 20th century, Italy experienced periods of political instability, economic growth, and cultural transformation. The country played a significant role in both World War I and World War II and emerged from the latter as a republic in 1946. Since then, Italy has become a leading industrialized nation and a founding member of the European Union.


Italy has a population of approximately 60 million people, making it the fourth most populous country in Europe. The majority of the population is of Italian descent, with small communities of immigrants from other European and Mediterranean countries. Italian is the official language, and the majority of the population is Roman Catholic.

Administrative Divisions

Italy is divided into 20 regions, each with its own elected government. These regions are further subdivided into provinces and municipalities. The regions of Italy are:

  1. Abruzzo
  2. Basilicata
  3. Calabria
  4. Campania
  5. Emilia-Romagna
  6. Friuli-Venezia Giulia
  7. Lazio
  8. Liguria
  9. Lombardy
  10. Marche
  11. Molise
  12. Piedmont
  13. Apulia (Puglia)
  14. Sardinia (Sardegna)
  15. Sicily (Sicilia)
  16. Tuscany (Toscana)
  17. Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol
  18. Umbria
  19. Aosta Valley (Valle d’Aosta/Vallée d’Aoste)
  20. Veneto

10 Largest Cities by Population

Italy’s largest cities by population include:

  1. Rome
  2. Milan
  3. Naples
  4. Turin
  5. Palermo
  6. Genoa
  7. Bologna
  8. Florence
  9. Bari
  10. Catania

Education Systems

Education in Italy is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 16. The country has a well-developed education system, with both public and private schools at all levels. Italy is home to several prestigious universities, including the University of Bologna, Sapienza University of Rome, and the University of Milan.



Italy has several major international airports, including Leonardo da Vinci International Airport in Rome, Malpensa Airport in Milan, and Marco Polo Airport in Venice.


Italy has an extensive railway network operated by Trenitalia and other regional companies. High-speed trains connect major cities, including Rome, Milan, Florence, and Naples.


Italy has a well-developed network of highways and roads, including the Autostrada del Sole (A1) and the Autostrada A4, which connect the north and south of the country.


Italy has several major seaports, including the Port of Genoa, the Port of Naples, and the Port of Gioia Tauro, which is one of the largest container ports in Europe.

Country Facts

  • Population: Approximately 60 million
  • Capital: Rome
  • Official Language: Italian
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • ISO Country Code: IT
  • International Calling Code: +39
  • Top-Level Domain: .it